Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

Im new to leather helmets however im experienced in leather i.e saddles and horse tack. Something has been bothering me over the debates on how to paint leather. I find nothing wrong with painting a shield however it makes me cringe when people talk about painting leather helmets. The problem with this is that leather needs to be oiled regularly to prevent it from drying out and becoming brittle. If your going to redo a helmet please please please dye the leather dont paint it.. I see in topics how guys cant remember hitting their head yet a chunk of leather is missing, it wouldnt take much to chip a good chunk off of a dried out leather helmet. When was the last time you broke a piece of leather off of your station boots? These helmets are a huge investment and the best way to keep your investment in good shape and have it last years is simple make sure its treated regularly with leather products such as "doc baileys leather treatment" nets foot oil etc. I know alot of you wont agree with this but it makes sence, I also was talking to my saddle maker earlier today and was discussing this with him and he just cringed at the thought of painting leather. My advice please dont do it. Although helmets are a big investment saddles are an even bigger one, when was the last time you ever saw a painted saddle? Good quality leather products such as conditioners and dies can be purchased at any saddle shop website some good ones i have found are valley vet, chicks saddlery, country supply, jeffers  and  horseloverz.com. Please make your investment last and dont paint it.

Views: 19163

Replies to This Discussion

Hey Brother Shawn: