Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

Recently I have been on a few vehicle fires with magnesium built in to the vehicle. What is everyone using to put this out?

Views: 6750

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hey Jason,
I'm not an expert on inflammable metals, but let me relate this story. My old ladder company is a quint, and one day they were dispatched alone to a car fire. When they got there they had a fire in the engine compartment of a Volkswagon. They stretched and 1 1/2" "Trash line". It was a while before they were heard from on the radio, but the next thing that was heard was "Charge the 1 3/4" ".
The next transmission was requesting an engine into the still alarm for water supply! Needless to say,
this caught peoples attention. They eventually figured out what was happening; they had a magnesium block on fire! Well, the fire did go out and noone got hurt, but they definitely took the long way around. After that, we started sending an engine and a ladder on all car fires and 2 weeks after that fire a Metal-X extinguisher showed up on Ladder 3. The unfortunate part of vehicle construction today is that the magnesium is not limited to the block of the engine. My only suggestion is that if the flame is bright white and the smoke is really white, you probably have a fire involving magnesium. There is a good video of a fire in a Jeep where the firefighter is right up on the vehicle and gets water on some magnesium. Cool light show, but kinda scary too. Use the reach of your stream before advancing to see how the fire reacts. If it reacts violently, try a Metal-X extinguisher and see if that knocks it down. Stay safe!
Chris
We go to quite a few car fires and 50% of them have some magnesium burning it them. A quick shot from a dry extinguiser takes care of the problem. Joe