Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

Does you company/department routinely drill in ground ladder evolutions? Do ground ladders get thrown routinely at every incident or are they an afterthought?

Can your company quickly and safely complete a ground ladder evolution in order to rescue a trapped member or a civillian?

Views: 1691

Replies to This Discussion

Jason,
As far as heeling/butting the ladder, it should be butted from the front if the Firefighter climbing is carrying a tool, (hoseline counts as a tool) and from the back if the Firefighter climbing is not carrying a tool. When a Firefighter climbing is carrying a tool the Firefighter butting the ladder should be positioned on the opposite side of the ladder as the Firefighter's hand carrying the tool. That way if the tool is dropped, the Firefighter butting can move out of the way and still maintain contact with the ladder.
That is the way I've been doing for the last 4 years, but now my Ops Chief is not allowing us to apply the technique. We are only to heel from the back . We're using the appropriate methods of "operational change" just to go back to it.
I don't believe in heeling this way for this or that way for that situation. I'd rather have as many tools in the mental box and apply them as I see fit (through training) to, dependent on the situation in front of me at the time.

I'd rather give my people several options, plus the ability to think outside the box, when it comes to accomplishing a tactic and let them choose the right one, not a step by step procedure.
I am a firm believer in butting the ladder from the front. I like the safety factor of being out of the way of a falling tool but, even more important, I like to watch what is going on and keep an eye on my partner on the ladder....