Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

Are you using NFPA 1410, Training for Initial Emergency Scene Opearions, as part of your hands-on training program? How is it working out? How have you modified the drills? How do your times compare to the standard?

Views: 4256

Replies to This Discussion

Miami-Dade (Metro-Dade) has been using the 1410 drills for about four years. As a district training officer I was often contacted by new officers for "drill ideas" or access to acquired buildings for upcoming drills. When asked what they planned to drill on, they often didn't have much of a plan. So I suggested and began distributing a 1410 package as a starting point.

We then began a fireground evolution series. In this program, the Training Division would pick two of the evolutions and send an announcement to Operations for the Monthly Drills. Companies then had a month to drill on those two evolutions. In the following month, companies would be notified at random to report to a drill site to perform one of the evolutions. They would have to practice both because they didn't know which evolution would be the evaluation evolution. Not all companies (we have over 65 stations so it is impossible to catch them all) get summoned for the evaluation. At first, no one minded not being called out. But as more and more companies bought in to the drill of the month concept more would train harder so that they shined on evalutation day. The next thing we know, people are getting upset because they didn't get called out to the drill. This is a good problem!

We just completted the first annual "Benchmark Competion". What a success! Firefighters being a competitive lot, jumped at the opportunity to train, work on teamwork, efficiency measures, and we even found some equipment storage issues that we can change to make deployment safer and faster. \