Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

My City is contemplating Going to 5" LDH. We currently use 4", and have water problems at significant fires. I am advocating the 5" purely from a hydraulic perspective. We currently have 2 -1500gpm triples, and 6- 1250's. The 4" has been OK. for the 1250's and our retired 1000gpm's,but now with 1500 pumps, I feel 5" LDH is needed to flow those volumes! Some disagree, and the biggest argument is the Weight of the 5" LDH hose? If you are currently using 5" LDH, please weigh in on this discussion.
Thanks
Phil Lemire,
P.S. I assume the Strotz couplings are different as well?

Views: 3314

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Phil
We use 5" never had 4" so the weight has never been an issue. Right now I can't even tell who our manufacturer is. It weighs 110# per 100' and holds about 1 gallon per foot.
We get lots of water out of the 5", we also have a good water supply. When I was an engine officer I conducted some tests with my rig. I had 300' of 5" supply from a hydrant to one piston intake and 100' to the other piston intake from a different hydrant and our 1250 gpm pump was flowing 2250 gpm. All straight stream master streams and were pito(sp) tested to determine flow.

We were looking into the hydrant assist valves (humet valve) once. I know some departments use these with 4" hose, thought they may work for us too, they don't. I laid out a hose bed (1000') let it flow through a 2" tip on a portable master stream. When doing the same thing with the assist valve at the hydrant we obtained 300 gpm less, again these were done at hydrant pressure only. Same tests were done pumping I don't have the numbers handy but still poor results.
I like 5" guys don't b**** about it.