Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

Hey guys and ladies. I'm a noob here and to the world of Fire Fighting. I have always wanted to help people in the way that Fire Fighters do but never had a chance to do what I felt. Don't get me wrong, I'm not lazy. I simply lacked guidance. I hold a BS in Electronic Engineering and MBA in Global and Health Care Management. And, with the economy I have been dealt a different card where the Health Care Management specialization is not being used. I have a pretty good, well paying job but, I feel like I am constantly on the episode of The Office or Office Space. "It's not that I'm lazy, I just don't care". The point is that there has always been something missing. From the day when I turned 22, after my first major accident (my fault) I remember Fire Fighters telling CPD not to give me any citations as they actually though I was one of them (Fire Fighter plates and looking very fit). As they proceeded towards making sure that everyone was ok, I thought to myself that this is a very rewarding career. Am I looking for recognition? I think we all are in some sense. But, I think it's more about giving back and being able to say that I've accomplished something good in life. So, the question is; Is it wise to give up years of schooling and a fairly steady career (despite not liking it) for being a Fire Fighter and starting the process at 27 years of age. To complicate things, I just purchased a house and am not sure if it's even financially feasible to keep up with the house and go to school for Fire Fighting. From what few of the guys told me after asking if I have a degree "just give him the badge", it is still recommended. Any thoughts?

Views: 247

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion