Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

In a recent conversation I was going back and forth with a few fellow company officers about the normal stuff. You know, how we can single handedly solve all the issues that exist if they would just let us be king for a day. Probably all the same ideas that orbit all of our galley tables. One of them said something to the group that really stood out to me. The comment was made that their organization would be so much better if the company officers had more power. They went on to say that over the years the power for the station officers to handle problems has been stripped from them and there is too much involvement from chief officers. “Back in the day stuff like this was handled in the station”, one remarked. “We don’t have power to do anything anymore” he continued and the rant went on and on.

I thought about what he had said about back in the day, long before I was a company officer and how the captains had all the power. Has this changed? I think so. Look I’ll admit, from my experience and what I hear from fellow officers across the country, is there sometimes too much involvement at the station level from the chief officers? Sometimes yes. I have thought to myself before, why is this something that the chiefs need to be involved in? I know some of you ask the same thing. Like, I am with my crews every day, how is the chief going to tell me what’s best for them?