Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

How many of you work with Firefighter/Paramedics who want nothing to do with riding a truck or engine and exclusively want to ride on the medic unit, ambulance, rescue or whatever you may call it? What does your department do with those folks?

Views: 467

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Mr. Dixon,

It sounds like your problems are similar in nature to many of the other brothers on this thread. I think we are all speaking the same thought in different sentences. We are all blessed to have this hobby. I cannot call it a job, in fact I have told my wife that when I go I want my tombstone to say: "Do you believe we got paid for this?" She doesn't see the humor in it...

I happen to be an LT on an engine and miss practicing medicine enough to switch with a paramedic if they are an acting officer. I have been a paramedic for 10 years and wouldn't have gotten off the bus for anything. That being said, we had extremely ineffective leaders at the time. I now make it my job to ensure my medics, along with my EMT-Bs are taken care of. I wish you luck in helping your department understand the importance of balance for everyone!

Be Safe! Scott
At my department we all are fire/medics, we all rotate positions on the medic and the engine. In our area we are a small suburban department which is referred to as an either/or station, either the medic or engine. Our problem is there are guys who have demonstrated a fear of fire and unwillingness to do the right thing on the medic. It just seems that these guys are just plain lazy, making comments like, "I did it that way because it is easier." I counter, "But it is not the right thing for the patient." their retort, "So, it makes me feel better!" They just don’t get that this is not about them....IT'S ABOUT THE PATIENT!
Mike