Department:
University Fire Department
Title/rank:
Captain
Years of public service:
Agency structure:
Paid fire department
Top issues in your department:
Finding ways to overcome manpower issues, ever increasing costs and time shortages and still provide the 22,000 people in our service area and on the campus with excellent service.
Professional Qualifications:
AAS degree in Municipal Fire Control.
Alaska State and IFSAC FFI, II, Driver/Oper.,Officer I, Instr. I, and RIT Tech., Swiftwater Tech I and II, Ice Rescue, Low to High Angle Rope and Confined Space Technician.
Calif. State FF I and Heavy Rescue I.
I have been teaching in the public and private sector since 1997.
Topics you provide training for:
Taught technical rescue with Tim Kelahan's Rescue Co., formerly of Fairbanks Alaska, from 1997 to 2002, teaching Swiftwater, Ice Rescue, Confined Space and Rope Rescue.
Currently Adjunct teacher for Community Technical College of the University of Alaska Fairbanks. Am currently teaching or have taught Building Construction for Fire Protection, Advanced Rescue Practices.

I offer lectures on company leadership and devotion to the profession.

Lead instructor for a class developed from the Alaska State RIT guidelines and the R.I.C.O. concept. Focus goes beyond the basics of RIT technician and into officer performance, company teamwork and skills for needed for reaching and extricating downed firefighters. Throughout the class firefighters are pushed to their limits as they work in company sized teams to achieve a rescue or complete survival objectives.
Areas of expertise:
A student of the art of firefighting, leadership and brotherhood. Join me on my blog at www.leatherhead109.com or find my writing through FireEMSblogs.com

DrillMaster for the University of Alaska Fairbanks, Comm. Technical College FF I Academy, with 12 years of experience in taking folks off the street and developing recruits.
Bio: