Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

i am a firefighter/medic in a small rural volunteer fire dept i am also a ff/medic for two other agencies in city settings. i have six years in the volunteer service and have just recently moved into the paid aspect of the fire service. i knew that there would be some culture shock when i joined up with some inner city dept but i never thought it make me despise my current volunteer dept. we have always had issues in our dept but i was always able to look past it but recently it has hit me hard .our dept has a lot of negativity and no accountability . i was just wondering what problems others had in their dept. and how to approach it . please reply

Views: 108

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Basically, if you take a mold of your volunteer dept and erase the name, thats what volunteer agencies are like everywhere brother.

Before everyone starts in on me hear me out.  Im a volunteer, I have 22 years experience and serve as a Captain now, I was Lieutenant.  I have been in 4 departments because of constantly moving my family to find work.  I have seen it in each department...the dreaded argument about training standards being equal with every firefighter, the volunteers are the same as career and do the same job, the "Im only a volunteer with a FT job and a family and I cant do the training thats required of me" excuse.  It happens everywhere and the negativity and complacency is a requirement it seams.