Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

Is it possible to perform a better size up to prevent firefighters from getting injured or killed on the fire ground? And if so what are the size up points that you should consider before deciding to enter the structure or not?

Views: 1324

Replies to This Discussion

Thanks Chris,for your reply,I have only been on the Fire dept for about 5 years,and i am still learning ,more day by day,,,I don't know all the fancy words,But,i do know how to put out and fire,and be and first responder..Thanks Brenda
Art Zern said:
Frank and Jim,

Perhaps a little further explanation is in order. RECEO or RECEO VS is generally used as a strategy prompt.
R - Rescue
E - Exposures
C - Confinement
E - Extinguishment
V - Ventilation
S - Salvage

This acronym can be used by Incident Commanders or initial arriving officers to assist in determining a strategy and prioritizing strategic issues. It is often mistakenly seen as a tactical prompt or initial size-up tool, which it is not.

Let me explain; Strategy is the overall plan that will be used to control the incident.
Strategies are broad in nature and are achieved by the completion of tactics. and tasks.

Tactics, on the other hand, are the specific operations that must be accomplished to achieve the strategies. Tactics must be both specific and measurable.

As the IC begins to develop his/her initial strategy, an evaluation (size-up) must be made to determine the strategic priorities. If Rescue is determined to be the most pressing issue and therefore the highest Strategic priority, then all tactics selected must support Rescue as the Strategic priority. This may mean stretching the initial hoseline to protect the interior stairs and placing the line between the fire and occupants. It may also mean venting for life along with an aggressive primary search. These are all tactics and tasks that support the Strategic priority of Rescue.