Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

Ok guys I know this may sound like a silly question but in North Little Rock, AR, we don't have a lot of highrise buildings. Our tallest building is twelve stories and there are only ten or so that are taller than 5 stories. So needless to say we don't fight many fires using standpipes so when we have one it may not be done smoothly.

I am a training officer and am in the process of trying to make some changes in the department. One of these changes is to reconstruct a highrise pack that will work for us. I've picked up several things from other discussions but I figured I would ask some people that use them on a regular basis.

I would appreciate any information.

Views: 275

Replies to This Discussion

Wesley, I highly recommend Chief Dave McGrail's book on Fighting Fire in High-Rise and Standpiped Buildings. It really explains just about everything you could want when re-evaluating current SOPs. Hope this helps.
Thanks for the tip.
When you say High Rise Pack are you talking about the tools you would need? Some of the tools to include in a standpipe kit (Bag) are.
Door chocks (wedges)
16" Alum Pipe wrench
Valve Wheel
Pressure Gauge
Extra Nozzle (In case first one melts)
Spanners
Marker or chalk
Outlet cap
Other items to consider
Elbow
Hand tool or lump hammer
F tool
Locking Plyers
Your hose should be assembled in easy to carry and deployable bundle(s). I like the FDNY fold best.
The key here is your own statement- '...needless to say we don't fight many fires using standpipes so when we have one it may not be done smoothly."

The truth is, when it has to be done, it has to be done right. With the potential for wind to add to the equation it must be drilled on regularly. As with many topics this is true. What's the G rated axiom? " One 'Oh fudge', takes out a hunded 'atta-boys'."