Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

As an officer on an engine, what is your job? I've taken notice recently in reviewing NIOSH fatality reports and talking with members from other departments that it is not uncommon for the Engine officer to be on the nozzle. Is this really a common practice? If so, why?

Views: 224

Replies to This Discussion

Having the engine officer on the nozzle is WRONG!
The job of the engine officer is to supervise their crew.
The officer is the supervisor. He needs to be aware of the changing conditions and watch out for the safety of the crew. Fire may wrap around the attack crews position, to leave another member of the crew to watch for these changing conditions is wrong.
When I was an engine officer, with a three person crew, my job was behind the nozzle man with the third person as the door man. If we were the initial attack my third person was pumping, I was one busy dude. I was constantly moving from the front of the line to where it was caught and back to the front of the line always in voice contact with the nozzle position. If we were the backup line we positioned about two thirds of the way in as the atack line and protected the dominant verticle channel in the structure. I was constantly upstairs and back down watching conditions aware of the attack line and members searching. Gut busting work as any job in interior firefighting, but extremely important for all firefighters and civilians alike.
Jay
Jay,