Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

My department seems to have a lot of issues with the Mustang Ice Commander suits leaking from the zipper. Does anyone else seem to be having this problem? I’m leaning more towards that fact that either the zippers aren’t being lubed therefore making it harder for the teeth to engage or the fact that they are always rolled back up and stowed as per factory instructions back in their original bags. The suits on an average drill night see 2-3 firefighters rotating in and out of them and probably 6 drills during the winter months.

Views: 1610

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I am an Ice Rescue Instructor and was at FDIC last year and learned in a class on Ice And Water Rescue that we should NOT follow the directions on the bags for storing the suits. They said to place the suits face down as opposed to face up and to start at the feet and roll the suits up toward the head. Then you fold the arms over the roll last. This way it puts a more gentle bend on the arms as opposed to a sharp crease. You need to be sure and wax the zippers appropriately too. Do not use any type of lube on them. Is it leaking from the zippers or the seam by the zippers? The Mustangs usually have a lot less problems then the Stearns Driflex suits which are notorious for leaks at the seam where the boot and leg come together. Another thing we do is keep our suits unrolled during the off season. We store them flat, this way they are not constantly rolled up for the entire year, year after year.