Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

Retirement, it’s a word that is used to formally say you’re transitioning from the active duty as a firefighter to “civilian” life.  For some it’s a dream, for others it may be a curse.  Sadly, some will never see it.

When I started out, I know it would happen someday.  That someday was far off in my dreams.  I wanted to do this job for as long as I can and they would have to force me to go.  That was MY dream.

As we all know, dreams don’t always come true.  Fast forward to now.  I’m retired.  At the age of39, I found myself HAVING to retire.

I never thought I’d be 39 and retired.  Some might say that firefighters have it easy.  “Wow, 39 and retired!  Wish I was a firefighter and could do that.”  Sometimes I feel ashamed having to say it.  What will people say?  How will they look at me?  Are they going to think I chose to walk away?

Transitioning to retirement is by far the hardest thing I have done in my life.  I don’t have the support of my firehouse family on this one.  It’s all on me.  When you’re forced to go before you are ready; you deal with a lot of emotions.  Knowing you want to still be a firefighter, but you physically or mentally can’t.  Finding something, anything to fill the gap of what you did every third day isn’t easy.

I am fortunate that I have four wonderful young kids and a very supportive wife.  My days now are filled by cooking breakfast, packing lunches, dropping kids off at school and spending time with my 3 year old at home.  My morning news I used to watch at work is now replaced by watching “Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood.” 

Like the firehouse, it’s a routine.  The pace is even quick at times.  But what I miss most is the adrenaline rush.  That split second when the tones would drop and you anticipated what was coming in.