Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

OBJECTIVES
Teach the new guy about the rig and equipment
Mentor the new guy
Introduce the crew to the new guy
Build team confidence

BACKGROUND
To explain the impact of this drill, a brief background is necessary. As a rookie firefighter I was assigned to a dual company house. Because it was the Haz Mat station, it was the first time a rookie had been assigned to this particular crew…..needless to say the expectations were high. On my first shift the Captain welcomed me, and in great detail, went over his expectations of me. He was very professional and treated me with more respect than I probably deserved as the newest member of his crew.

THE DRILL