Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

Kevin LeGacy has seemingly mastered the art of widening the adz of the halligan. As a result, members that he has worked with have taken to utilizing this modified tool. It provides for a greater spread during the "GAP" phase of conventionally forcing inward swinging doors. Any other thoughts, or has anyone else seen this type of modification??? Check out Brotherhood Instructors LLC webpage.
http://brotherhoodinstructors.com/wordpress/?p=242

Views: 848

Replies to This Discussion

-I have been using the standard Halligan bar for going on twenty years now and am a firm believer that many firefighters assume they know how to use this tool adequately when in fact most do not know how to use this tool properly.
-Having said that, I have tried the wide adz and found it to be interesting though not necessary if one learns to use the Halligan correctly.
-If you think the wider blade will be helpful and can properly modify the tool so as to create the wide blade that will perform safely then do so. Otherwise I think the best thing for members to do is for them to be trained in proper use and application of the Halligan bar.
-The wide blade is nice but certainly not necessary.
Well stated! They do teach back to basics forcible entry. Believing that you can conventionally force a door in just about any situation. But they showed the modification, and it was the first time I had seen it. The class focused on standard tools, and their use.

Michael Bricault said:
-I have been using the standard Halligan bar for going on twenty years now and am a firm believer that many firefighters assume they know how to use this tool adequately when in fact most do not know how to use this tool properly.
-Having said that, I have tried the wide adz and found it to be interesting though not necessary if one learns to use the Halligan correctly.