Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

I am looking for some assistance, I am an officer at an all volunteer fire department with approximately 30 active personnel and yet only about six show up to the weekly training drills, quite frankly I am about tired of seeing the same faces, yet when the pager goes off they all want to get on the big red truck.  While yes, some of them do work, and I understand the fire company comes after themselves and their families, I would like to see some new faces at drills.  We are a two engine company in a small community, and I am looking for some new and fun ideas to attempt to bring in more personnel.  We have started a back to basics training program to influence everyone, just looking for ideas to make the basics training better or other more advanced training, including some of those fun type drills which still enhance skills yet everyone has fun.  Thanks in advance!

Views: 1816

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

It may sound corny, but I’ve used playgrounds in my town to do firefighter training. The small openings simulate studs and can be used for reduced profiles; the tubes simulate collapses, etc….. What I have done in the past was run 100 feet of 1 3/4” through the entire playground area and charge it. Than would have the FFs mask up and put their hoods on backwards to reduce visibility, that tell them to get out. This is an all in one training to practice FF safety and Air Management. Plus it is something way different than then they are used to. It may even turn into a competition to see who comes out with the most air remaining. What I have found is do something real different and you may find that you get a couple more members to show up. Good Luck.