Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

WHITE FLAG LEADERSHIP

Leaders lead.

They make no excuses about their inheritance, the crews or the present climate and they do not lead with an attitude of fear and they surround themselves with great people.

Leaders don’t carry a white flag, they plan to win.

Many years ago, I printed off one of the writings of General George S. Patton. I studied the document again and again, analyzing the words, the intent and meaning of the message. Since General Patton was a uniformed commander and a leader in the military, he rarely hid his words and feelings in the shadows or under the skirt of political correctness. His writings have survived the test of time.

Throughout the Patton document, I replaced the word Army with Fire Department. The result was that Patton’s message came into focus and made perfect sense for the Fire Service. It could have been written about and delivered to the Fire Service, instead of to an Army.

I did the same with the report from the Charleston Sofa Super Store fire, substituting the name of my city for Charleston. The revised report was revealing. As we know, many of the issues in the Fire Service are the same if we simply change the names on a report and read it again slowly with an open mind.

The accomplishments and writings of leadership legends with names like Patton, Jackson, Nimitz, Halsey, Mattis, Puller, Honor’e, McAuliffe and McCrystal are studied in our institutes and universities of higher learning and will be for as long as leadership is a course of study. Fire Service leaders and those who wish to become leaders should study them also.