Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

Breaking the silence, what I have to say

I have PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome).  There, I said it; I admitted it to the world. 

How I came to have it? I’m not sure.  It’s not something I want; it’s not easy to deal with.  After all, I was a suburban firefighter for my entire career.  Not that the suburbs are immune from bad calls.  But I’ve heard stories from friends who work for busier urban departments.  Unbelievable stories of human carnage.  Yet I get it........

I actually didn’t know I had it.  Not until I started seeking professional help did I realize it. 

I knew that becoming a firefighter would be hard, both physically and mentally.  What firefighters see on a daily basis can be rough.  We see people at their worst moments and seldom see the best of things.

I remember my first fatal accident.  I was a new firefighter, a volunteer in a suburb west of Milwaukee.  The call was for a head collision on a country road.  The occupants of both vehicles were dead on arrival.  It seemed like a surreal experience.

Fast forward two weeks, icy conditions on the roads made them slippery.  We responded for another accident.  Two cars hit head on and then were struck by a third car.  When we arrived, the first ambulance was working a traumatic arrest.  The second car had three teenagers inside.  Two of them deceased and one (the bottom one) was still alive.  We worked to extricate them and the third died during the extrication.

Here I was 18 years old and witnessing six fatalities in two weeks.  My brothers saw it.  They would talk to me about the calls and offer advice.  I got through it with their help.