Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

When an incident expands and the Incident Commander needs to start filling his or her command staff positions, are we providing a lip stick attempt at safety?  We all know that operating at a major incident, increases the chances of having a firefighter injury or death.  One of the first lines of safety prevention is the Company Officer's mindset to determine (SA) situational awareness for the environment they are trying to combat.  The next would be the choice of filling the (ISO) Incident Safety Officer position. This is a person dedicated to providing a specific eye for the multiple "what if" scenarios?  It is a critical component that most fire departments in the United States attempt to provide for greater margins of firefighter safety.

But are we implementing the process to the best of our ability?  Maybe but then again maybe NOT. I am a Pro-Board ISO Instructor and I also teach a lot of classes on Command and Control of the Mayday Incident.  My goal for years has been to prepare fire officers for the best possible outcome to an event that is not a normal fire ground operation. If you have ever been involved in a true mayday event, then you know first hand the chill and frozen feeling that can overcome you at the sound of those three words. MAYDAY - MAYDAY - MAYDAY. Some are able to work through the emotional and stress induced event while some really good commanders appear to be cemented to the ground and unable to move.  Let's be realistic, every incident commander I know, wants the best possible outcome for his or her people and safety is usually the forefront of their mindset. Nobody wants something bad to happen on their watch.