Fire Engineering Training Community

Where firefighters come to talk training

The only difference from a volunteer and paid fire fighter,is you are in a city,you get paid.
We all have to go though the same training and all the courses,we have to keep our license up,or certificates,we have on our walls. Just because and fire fighter is paid,hey,that makes no difference.,from and volunteer...The small communities,that have volunteers who put their butts out there ,and do the same jobs,as fire fighting..I think volunteer departments should get paid..every single one..I wonder just how much our small towns,think.,when we go put out those structure fires,how much it cost our departments,and the up keep of all trucks and etc.
volunteer are paid,makes no difference.,we are fire fighters...who have to do the "Best" we have been taught to do. The Only Difference........NONE.......

Views: 2291

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I'm a Firefighter in a large career department but also volunteer where I live serving as a Fire Captain and the Training Officer. We have the good and bad on both sides of the coin.
First, my career department. We make 100,000 calls a year (Fire, EMS, Haz-Mat, Rescue). Our training program is a joke. You receive your FF I and II while at the academy and that's it. Everything else you learn is from a senior man or through hard knocks. Once you receive your FF I or II cert in Tennessee, it's yours for life. No recerts, no live burn requirements, no minimal training hours......piss poor. Many of the people on my career department are not firemen, they are just employees that are there for the paycheck, days off, and the benefits. There are pockets of pride and professionalism scattered throughout the city, but we we have a long way to go as a whole.